A New Orc State of Mind

So, noodling around on Twitter today to amuse myself I started the #DNDSongs hashtag. Beginning with the idea that had started the whole mess (‘I Had 99 Goblins But A Lich Ate One’), I spent a good deal of time interacting with the Twitter crowd to create song titles, largely based on fairly naff Dungeons and Dragons specific puns. A lot of people came up with some good stuff (if you dig that kind of thing) and it’s worth checking out the hashtag if you’re capable and so inclined.
 
William Mollinari (@WJMollinari) came up with the title of “A New Orc State of Mind” however, and I found it so compelling I ended up writing the whole thing. Reproduced now, for posterity, below:
 
A New Orc State Of Mind
 
Some orcs like to get away
Find a siege to lay
Or burn down a wood
Pick a fight with a rival clan
Or a force of good
But I’m takin’ a Hell Hound
Down the dungeon’s steep decline
I’m in a new orc state of mind.
 
Mmmhmmn
 
I’ve served under evil stars
Seen the battle scars
On their skins of green
Been down in the caverns
Tortured by pit fiends
But I know what I’m needin’
And I don’t want to waste more time
I’m in a new orc state of mind.
 
It was so easy living day by day
Out of touch with the goblinoid crew
But now I need a little
Meat to taste
A true orc thrives
On flesh to chew
 
It comes down to brutality
And that’s fine with me
‘Cause I’m so inclined
Don’t care ’cause I’m Chao-
-tic Evil aligned
I don’t need any reasons
To torture what I find
I’m in a new orc state of mind
 
Oh yeah
 
It was so easy living day by day
Out of touch with the goblinoid crew
But now I need a little
Meat to taste
A true orc thrives
On flesh to chew
 
Whoaa-oooh
 
It comes down to brutality
And that’s fine with me
‘Cause I’m so inclined
Don’t care ’cause I’m Chao-
Tic Evil aligned
I don’t need any reasons
To torture what I find
I’m in a new orc state of mind
 
I’m just takin’ a Hell Hound
down the dungeon’s steep decline
‘Cause I’m in a…
I’m in a new orc…
State of…
MIND!
 
Yeah, yeah.
 
There you have it. Somewhat tempted, but have refrained from, recording a vocal version. A slightly more serious, though still musically inclined blog post, to come soon.
Leave a Reply

